Article - Qatar Deny Malaysia Consolation Win
View Article

Qatar Deny Malaysia Consolation Win

null (null)

Qatar Deny Malaysia Consolation Win

Malaysia finished bottom of the standings at the Asian Regional Finals qualifying tournament for next year’s ICC T20 World Cup after a four-wicket defeat to Qatar at the Singapore Indian Association ground on Saturday.

With neither side in the running for the sole berth to the next qualifying stage, Qatar rallied after a promising start by Malaysia to secure their second win of the tournament with two balls to spare and third place.

Malaysia, the lowest-ranked team in the tournament at 35th in the world, ended with just two points from four matches after following up their opening win over Kuwait with defeats to Nepal, Singapore and Qatar.

In the first meeting for 10 years, Malaysia lost their last seven wickets for the addition of 33 runs to be all out for 144 in 19.1 overs before World No 21 Qatar overcame a disastrous start to reach 147-6.

Malaysia appeared headed for a big score at 111-3 after 13 overs but Mohammed Nadeem turned the innings around by first dismissing Syahadat Ramli for two before returning to remove Virandeep Singh, who fell one run short of his second T20I fifty,  having faced 46 balls and hit four fours and a six.

Virandeep also featured in a third-wicket stand of 63 runs with Shafiq Sharif, who scored 36 off 21, while Ahmad Faiz Mohammad Noor added 23 off 14.

The wheels came off with Virandeep’s exit as Iqbal Hussein went on to match Nadeem’s three-wicket haul to leave Malaysia ruing a poor finish to the innings.

Qatar themselves made a disastrous start when Neville Liyanage and Pavandeep Singh removed opener Faisal Javed and Muhammad Tanveer to leave them at 9-2 after two overs.

When Virandeep bowled captain Tamoor Sajjad for 26 to have Qatar struggling at 86-5 inside 14 overs, Malaysia looked to be in a promising position only for man-of-the-match Nouman Sarwar and Qalandar Khan to take Qatar to the brink of victory with 57-run stand for the sixth wicket.

Sarwar ended unbeaten on 47 from 37 balls while Qalandar fell in the final over to Virandeep for 25 before Hussein hit a boundary for the winning runs.

Earlier, Nepal beat Kuwait by seven wickets to set up a winner-takes-all clash with Singapore on Sunday for the sole berth to the Global Qualifier in the United Arab Emirates later this year.

After restricting Kuwait to 141-9, captain Paras Khadka scored 68 to lead Nepal to 143-3 in 15.5 overs.


Malaysia 144 in 19.1 overs (Virandeep Singh 49, Shafiq Sharif 36, Ahmad Faiz 23, Mohammed Nadeem 3-23, Iqbal Husssain 3-23)

Qatar 147-6 in 19.4 overs (Nouman Sarwar 47 not out, Kamran Khan 27, Tamoor Sajjad 26, Qalandar Khan 25, Virandeep 2-15)

Result: Qatar won by 4 wickets

Tournament Page : Click Here

You can also enter comments by CricClubs Login