The annual series for the Carl Schubert Trophy between Malaysia and Singapore started off with a 3 days innings match on Monday, 18th December 2017. This series is the combined 2016/2017 series as last year, this series could not be held due to unavoidable reasons.

Malaysia having won the 2015 series, today decided to field first after winning the toss. Excellent spell of pace from Wafiq Irfan Zarbani who took 7 wickets for 21 runs of 11 overs restricted the visitors to 52 runs as they were all out in 25 overs. Pavandeep took 2 wickets for 3 runs off 3 overs. Only Yuraj Singh stood in long to score double figures of 11 runs not out.

Malaysia started off their innings shakily too as they lost their 1st wicket when they lost opener Saifullah Malik who two balls earlier scored a boundary. Next to fall was Ainool Hafiz Md. Yatim with the total at 18 runs. Virandeep went in next to partner the other opener Shankar Satish Chandra to put up a partnership of 107 runs when Shankar who was on 59 runs was caught at mid-wicket. Skipper Syahadat Ramli went in to share the wicket with Virandeep to push the score to 140 runs when rain stopped play for the day. Play will resume tomorrow at 9.30 with Malaysia having 27 more overs to bats from the 1st innings limit of 75 overs per team.

Fixtures, Results & Photos – Click Here