On Saturday, 22nd April 2017, Selangor defeated host Penang by 32 runs. In the match played at the Penang Sports Club Oval, Penang won the toss and bowled first and took the visitors all out for 97 runs in 43.3 overs. In the low scoring innings, the runs for Selangor came from Harinder Singh 37, Moazam Hayat 16, Aminuddin Ramly 14 runs. Thevan Raj Kumar took 3 wickets for 9 runs off 5 overs while Amir Azim Shukor took 2 for 14 , Khizar Hayat Durrani also 2 for 14 and Patrick Dooley 2 for 21.

Though it was a small target to chase, Penang was in trouble right from the start as they lost 2 wickets of the first 2 ball of their innings. Their 3rd wicket fell off 2.2 overs and 3 runs on the board. Wickets kept falling cheaply with Penang only managing 65 off 24 overs. Derek Michael Duraisingam took 5 wickets for 25 off 9 overs and Dhivendran Morgan took 2 for 8 off 4 overs.

On Sunday, Penang turned the tables on Selangor with a 5 wickets victory. On winning the toss, Penang elected to bowl first. Selangor batted through the 50 overs to put up 227 runs for the loss of 5 wickets. The bulk of the runs coming from Aminuddin Ramly 88 not out, Harinder Singh 62 not out and skipper Shajan Salim 51 runs. Amir Azim Shukor took 2 wickets for 33 off his 10 overs spell.

Penang in their innings started off well and were 29 runs when their 1st wicket fell. The 3rd wicket partnership pushed their score to 100 off 27 overs. Than Khizar Hayat Durrani 58 not out with Sharvin Muniandy 41 not out took the host home for victory in 47.5 overs. The others who contributed to their victory were Amir Azim Shukor 32, Pavitheran Nadeson 31, Justin Frew 23 and skipper Darvin Muralitharan 16 runs. Dhivendran Morgan took 2 wickets for 46 off 9.5 overs.

Results – Click Here
Points Table – Click Here