In the first Group B match of the MCA Fast Track League, Kuala Lumpur defeated Penang by an innings and 53 runs.

Played at the Penang Sports Club Oval, host Penang won the toss and elected to bowl first. Kuala Lumpur batted through the 75 overs allotted for the 1st innings to put up 240 runs for the loss of 8 wickets. Skipper Virandeep Singh top scored with 93 runs off 150 balls with 4 fours and a six. Saif Ullah Malik 33 runs, Hafiz Khair 22 not out, Fikri Makram Rosdi 16, Imam Jawfer Sadiq hamim 16, Neville Liyanage 14, Faris Almas Lee 14, Rosman Zakaria 12 and Pavandeep Singh 11 runs were the other who contributed to KL’s total. Penang bowlers, Thevan Raj took 2 wickets for 41 runs , Ibrahim Hassan and Varun Nadesh also took 2 wickets each for 52 amd 72 runs respectively.

Penang, in their 1st innings only managed a score 56 runs as they were all out in 31.5 overs. Only Vishvaruben Kumar posted double figure of 19 runs. Pavandeep Singh took 4 wickets for 7 runs off 11.5 overs while Hafiz Khair together with Virandeep Singh took 2 each for 7 and 12 runs.

Put to follow-on, Penang were all out 131 runs off 38.5 overs.  Their total was contribution of only their skipper, Keithan Goonasagaran who remained unbeaten with 102 runs. Pavandeep took another 4 wickets for 62 runs off his 16 overs spell. Skipper Virandeep took 3 for 27 off 8.5 overs while Neville Liyanage took 2 for 3 off 4 overs.

Match Scorecard – Click Here