In the MPL match against Penang played at the Penang Sport Club Oval, Kuala Lumpur defeated the host on both days by 8 wickets.

On Saturday, Kuala Lumpur won the toss and bowled out Penang for 99 runs in 41.4 overs. Patrick Dooley and Pavitheran Nadaesan had similar scores of 24 runs while the other batsman who contributed was Yasir Nasir 12 runs. Kuala Lumpur’s Pavandeep Singh together with Navantha Rathnayaka took 3 wickets each for 25 and 28 runs off their 10 overs spell. Neville Liyanage took 2 for 12 off 6 overs.

Kuala Lumpur reached their target of 99 runs  in 28.5 overs for the loss of 2 wickets. Skipper Ahmad Faiz M. Noor 48 runs and Virandeep Singh 34 batted till victory was secured for Kuala Lumpur.

On Sunday, 9th April, the host won the toss and elected to bat first. The decision did not favour them as they were all out for even a lesser score than the previous day. They were all out for a mere 73 runs off 26.3 overs. Patrick Dooley 19 runs, skipper Darvin Muralitharan 14, Kavinthren Kumar 14 and Thevan Raj Kumar were the contributors. Pavandeep had figures of 4 for 21 off 10 overs, while his younger brother Virandeep took 3 wickets for 24 off 7 overs.

In their run chase, Kuala Lumpur were given an early scare as they lost 2 wickets of the first 2 overs with no score on the board. But once again it was Virandeep 38 runs Skipper Ahmad Faiz M. Noor 37 runs who batted on to stay not out to secure victory.

Match 3 – Click Here
Match 5 – Click Here

Points Table – Click Here