In the Group B match played at the KTJ Oval on 22 and 23 February 2017, host Negeri Sembilan with ease defeated Sabah bay an innings and 48 runs.

On winning the toss Sabah elected to bat first but could only post a small total of 55 runs when they were bowled out in 25 overs. Except for Jalal G. Karim scoring 37 runs, all other Sabah’s batters fell for less than 5 runs each. For Negeri Sembilan, Faiz M. Nasir took 4 wickets for 37 runs off 12 overs. Anwar A. Rahman took 3 for 2 off 3 overs while Azwar Tajri took 2 for 16 off 10 overs.

In their innings Negeri Sembilan were 191 for 8 off 44.4 overs when they declared. Their total was mainly contributed by their skipper Shafiq Sharif 76 off 79 balls and Faizal Abu Hassan 62 off 106 balls. The others who chipped in were Anwar A. Rahman 15, Zubair Asyraf 12 and Azwar Tajri 11 runs. Sabah’s Khairul Izuan Razman and Amjad Aman Khan took 3 wickets each for 27 and 49 runs respectively. In their 2nd innings, Sabah lost 3 wickets with the score at 42 runs off 16.4 overs when time was called for day 1. They resumed their innings on Thursday and only managed 46 runs to their overnight total to bring their 2nd innings total to 88 all out in 29.4 overs. The 2nd innings total runs came from Jalal G. Karim 28, skipper Sudarmin Darwis 25 and Alif Safwan Zol 15 runs. Anwar A. Rahman together with Azwar Tajri took 4 wickets each for 9 and 29 runs while Islah Muhaimin took 2 for 18 runs.