Malaysia has stormed to a crucial 10-wicket win over Myanmar at Kinrara Oval, chasing down the 46-run target for victory in unbelievable speed to return to the top of the SEA Games men’s 50-over table.

The result sets up a tantalising clash between Malaysia and Singapore on Wednesday in a match likely to decide the gold medal, with only Net Run Rate separating the sides on the ladder.

Myanmar won the toss and elected to bat, but were little match for Malaysia’s attack, led by a five-wicket haul from Derek Michael Duraisingam (26-5) who helped dismiss the visitors for an indefensible 45.

There was little the Myanmar bowlers could do to stop free-wheeling Malaysian openers Mohf Shafiq Mohd Sharif (37*) and captain Mohd Anwar Arudin (5*), who punched seven boundaries, including two sixes, to achieve victory in four overs with 276 balls to spare.

The batting performance continued the strong work of the bowlers earlier in the day.

Myanmar’s openers resisted the probing pace of Derek Michael and Dhivendran Mogan, but only for two overs, as the former struck to have Lwin Maw caught at slip for a third-ball duck.

It did not take long for Derek Michael to claim his second wicket, forcing opposing captain Zarni Thein to send an edge to keeper Shafiq Sharif for six.

The loss had Myanmar 9-2 and in dire need of resistance and, while they bought themselves some time, they failed to make any significant progress on the scoreboard before Derek Michael struck again, with Ko Ko Lin Thu chopping on for two and his side 16-3.

Just four balls later, Muhammad Wafiq Irfan Zarbani (13-4) joined the action, bowling Paing Danu for one, then having Ye Naing Tun (10) snared with a sharp catch at second slip to have Myanmar 30-5.

Muhammad Wafiq found himself on a hat-trick in his next over, dismissing Lin Aung and Thuya Aung for ducks to have the visitors 30-7, but unable to claim the third scalp in a row.

Myanmar struggled to add to its score from that point, eventually dismissed for 45.

Match Scorecard – Click Here