The T20 Women’s Quadrangular Series have just ended after a fiery start on the 23rd July here at Kinrara Oval. Sri Lanka takes home the trophy, with Thailand in second place, followed by Malaysia in third, and Tanzania in fourth. It was a tough competition for the girls, playing under the scorching sun for six days with only one rest day in between – but they prevailed. Each team fought hard, with supporting members cheering for them from the sidelines.

The prize giving ceremony commenced shortly after the final game of the series, starting with a short speech by MCA president, Mr. Mahinda Vallipuram. The ceremony then moved on to the prize presentations. Special thanks to the CEO Secretariat Kuala Lumpur 2017; Yang Berbahagia Dato’ Seri Zolkples bin Embong for attending the ceremony as well as going on stage to present the trophies to winners.

Two individual titles were won by the same Tanzanian player, Fatuma Omary, for both best batsman and player of the series. She scored 151 runs in total, her highest score being 40 runs, with a strike rate of 75. For best bowler, this title was won by Niluka Karunarathne from Thailand. Throughout the series, she took 11 wickets, in which three wickets were within just four runs.

The Malaysia Cricket Association sends our many thanks to participating teams, coaches, managers and presidents for making the first Malaysian T20 Women’s Quadrangular Series a success, and greatest congratulations to everyone who participated!

Fixtures, Results & Photos – Click Here