FRCC retains All Stars title as Royal Strikers take Master Blaster crown

FRCC rejoice after winning the All Star Category of the Malaysian Cricket T20 Corporate League 2018.

FR Cricket Club (FRCC) retained the 2018 MCA T20 Corporate Championship All Star title with a 20-run win over Jenan Cowboys in an entertaining final at the Kinrara Oval on Saturday.

Jenan Cowboys, led here by Ahmad Faiz Noor, conceded defeat and became runner up in the All Star category of the Malaysian Cricket T20 Corporate League 2018

Earlier, Aadit Shah and Nilesh Pagare each claimed four wickets to lead Royal Strikers past Global Stars by three wickets to win the Master Blaster final.

An opening century partnership between Hafiz Umair and Nasir Abbas set FRCC on the way to a formidable total of 207-6 in 20 overs.

Jenan Cowboys made a gallant run at chasing down their target but fell short at 187-6 despite Faiz Ahmad Nasir (56) posting a half-century.

FRCC captain Tahzeeb Ahmad said his team, which was only formed in 2017, will be back in 2019 to go for a hat-trick of titles.

“The guys played very well and we want to develop the club in our future planning. So day-by-day we are going to progress,” said Ahmad. “We were champions last year and again this year.”

“We want to play in more MCA tournaments and we hope to be back in the next event.”

The success of the Corporate Championships has prompted the Malaysian Cricket Association to add a fourth category – Rising Star to the current All Star, Corporate Star and Master Blaster competitions.

MCA Chief Operating Officer Dinesh Muthuraman said the Rising Star event will act as an intermediate event between the All Star and Master Blaster categories.

Malaysian Cricket COO, Mr Dinesh Muthuraman congratulating the winners of the tournament.

“It will provide a level-playing field for the bottom 6 teams of the All Star category and top 10 teams from the Master Blaster category,” he said.

“We want to encourage more teams to play in the Corporate Championships which has also been a good exposure for the MCA development squads as well as the national players who played for their respective clubs.”

Almost 1,000 players representing 48 clubs played in the three categories of the 2018 edition of the Corporate Championships.




FRCC bt Jenan Cowboys by 20 runs. FRCC 207-6 (Nasri Abbas 63, Hafiz Iqbal 44, Hafiz Umair 41, Norwira Zazmie 3-47). Jenan 187-6 (Faiz Nasir, 56, Sudarmin Darwis 44, Ahmad Faiz 43)


Jenan Cowboys bt Active Telematics by 7 wickets
FRCC v MCA Development Squad A match abandoned. FRCC advance on better preliminary record


Jenan Cowboys bt United For Cricket by 2 wickets
MCA Development Squad A bt Royal Warriors by 17 runs (D/L method)
FRCC bt KL Stars by 69 runs
Active Telematics bt BJSS All Stars by 60 runs

Player of the Series: Nasir Abbas (FRCC)
Best Batsman: Moazam Hayat (Active Telematics)
Best Bowler: Nasir Abbas (FRCC)




Royal Strikers bt Global Stars by 3 wickets. Global Stars 70 in 13.2 overs (Aadit Shah 4-17, Nilesh Pagare 4-22) Royal Strikers 73-7 in 17.1 overs (Aadit Shah 20, Faisal Latif 3-23).




Global Stars bt MCA Development Squad B by 5 wickets
Royal Strikers bt Rising Smashers by 3 wickets


Global Stars bt BJSS by 8 wickets
MCA Development Squad B bt MKC by 6 runs
Royal Strikers bt Negeri Sembilan the Jang by 111 runs (D/L method)
Rising Smashers bt Cyber Giants by 12 runs

Player of the Series: Rohan Shetty (Royal Strikers)
Best Batsman: Abhilash Babu (Rising Smashers)
Best Bowler: Laddi Singh (Royal Strikers)


Faiz Nasir leads Jenan Cowboys into T20 All Star semi-finals

Jenan Cowboys squeezed into the semi-finals of the MCA Corporate T20 All Star competition with a two-wicket win over United For Cricket in the quarter-finals at the Kinrara Oval on Sunday.

Faiz Ahmad Nasir top scored with 28 runs for Jenan, who have the services of several national players, as they joined the MCA Development Squad A, FRCC and Active Telematics in the last-four.

United For Cricket appeared set for a big score following a 63-run opening stand between Kashif Shahzad and Usman Hashim but slumped to 68-5 after Amiruddin Azahar took three quick wickets.

They finished their 20 overs on 123-9 but Jenan did not have it their own way as they lost wickets regularly with national team captain Ahmad Faiz Mohammad Noor falling cheaply leg before for eight to Gulman Muzmil.

Muzmil claimed four wickets as Jenan struggled to 89-7 following Faiz Nasir’s dismissal before Mahathir Razali’s unbeaten 16 guided Jenan to victory with eight balls to spare.

In other matches at Kinrara on Sunday, Pasha Ali smashed a six and nine boundaries in his 64 runs off 42 balls to lead MCA Development to a 17-run win over Royal Warriors under the Duckworth-Lewis method.

Sohail Khan also hit a half-century with his 52 runs containing three sixes and five fours as FRCC trounced KL Stars by 69 runs.

National player Virandeep Singh grounded out 34 runs off 54 balls and featured in a 60-run partnership with Immad Shams (26) as Active Telematics defeated Bukit Jalil Sports School (BJSS) All Stars by 60 runs.

In the Master Blaster T20 quarter-finals, Global Stars Cricket Club beat BJSS by eight wickets to set up a semi-final meeting with MCA Development Squad B, who overcame MKC by six runs.

The other semi-finals will see Rising Smashers take on Royal Strikers after the former defeated Cyber Giants by 12 runs while the latter rolled over Negeri Sembilan the Jang by 111 runs under the D/L method.



Jenan Cowboys bt United For Cricket by 2 wickets. United For Cricket 123-9 (Kashif Shahzad 37, Amiruddin Azahar 3-23). Jenan 124-8 in 18.4 overs (Faiz Ahmad Nasir 28, Gulman Muzmil 4-22).

MCA Development Squad A bt Royal Warriors by 17 runs (D/L method). MCA Development 119-7 (Pasha Ali 64, Michael Masih 3-24). Warriors 86-7 in 17 overs (D Chaitanya 24, Afif Harith 2-14).

FRCC bt KL Stars by 69 runs. FRCC 188-9 (Sohail Khan 58, Santosh Gosavi 3-48). KL Stars 119 -9 (Shushan Save 34, Tahzeeb Ahmad 3-8).

Active Telematics bt BJSS All Stars by 60 runs. Active Telematics 163-6 (Syed Ehtesham Aziz 44, Virandeep Singh 34). BJSS 103 in 17.5 overs (Ammar Zuhdi 24, Syed Ehtesham 3-14).


Global Stars bt BJSS by 8 wickets. BJSS 145-4 (Lokman Nur Hakim Sahar 37). Global Stars 146-2 in 18.3 overs (Amir Khan 73 not out).

MCA Development Squad B bt MKC by 6 runs. MCA Development 134-3 (Shamsul Ikmal 52). MKC 128-8 (Shahir Ayyaril Sayed 38, Afif Harith 3-32).

Royal Strikers bt Negeri Sembilan the Jang by 111 runs (D/L method). Royal Strikers 172-5 (Naveen Varghese 82). NS 72 (Faiz Kamaruzaman 36, Laddi Singh 4-21).

Rising Smashers bt Cyber Giants by 12 runs. Rising Smashers 50-4 in five overs (Shrinivas Iver 16). Cyber Giants 38-6 in five overs (John Rathod 3-7).